Punjab Kings beat Chennai Super Kings by 4 wickets


Devon Conway’s unbeaten 92 helped Chennai Super Kings rack up a massive scoreline but what entertained the crowd to the max was MS Dhoni’s six straight to finish 20th. The hosts set Punjab Kings a target of 201. Earlier, Chennai Super Kings won the coin toss and opted to beat against Punjab Kings in match no. 41 at MA Chidambaram Stadium. CSK decided to stay unchanged despite losing in their last game against Rajasthan Royals. They included Ambati Rayudu in the starting XI who came as an Impact player in pursuit in the last game.

MS Dhoni’s CSK have played dominant cricket this season and are currently placed fourth in the points table after playing eight games. After an unforgettable past season, CSK have found the right balance this year and produced collective efforts on the pitch to outclass their opponents. Despite several injury crises, Dhoni managed to find the best in his players even though some were the second option. CSK’s batting line-up has worked well for them as Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane and Shivam Dube have always performed well for the team.

On the other side, the Punjab Kings have been inconsistent this season. Stick and bowling have not complemented each other well on several occasions as they are currently placed in sixth place in the points table. Shikhar Dhawan recovered from his injury and returned to the XI in the last game against Lucknow Super Giants but it turned out to be an unforgettable game for him and the team. Dhawan was dismissed for just 1 as the bowlers lost too many runs as LSG posted the second highest score in the IPL – 257/5.

CSK, however, will be happy to return to the comforts of home, where spin is king and their shrewd captain MS Dhoni will be looking to throttle the PBKS hitters.

A top-flight CSK was ambushed in Jaipur as the batters fell short chasing 203 for the win over the Royals.

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and wk), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajinkya Rahane, Sisanda Magala, Shivam Dube, Dwaine Pretorius, Ahay Mandal, Nishant Sindhu, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Mitchell Santner , Subharnshu Senapati, Simarjeet Singh, Matheesa Pathirana, Mahesh Theekshana, Bhagath Verma, Prashant Solanki, Shaikh Rasheed, Tushar Deshpande.

Kings of Punjab: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Arshdeep Singh, Baltej Singh, Rahul Chahar, Sam Curran, Rishi Dhawan, Nathan Ellis, Gurnoor Brar, Harpreet Brar, Harpreet Singh, Vidwath Kaverappa, Liam Livingstone, Mohit Rathee, Prabhsimran Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Bhanuka Rajapaksa , M Shahrukh Khan, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Singh, Matthew Short, Sikandar Raza, Atharva Taide.

get latest Cricket News, IPL 2023 Live Scores, orange cap And purple cap holder details here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *