After Gautam Gambhir, Naveen-ul-Haq slams Virat Kohli, pushes his hand away in heated exchange

Virat Kohli, Naveen-ul-Haq in a verbal spat

Virat Kohli, Naveen-ul-Haq in a verbal spat

A video surfaced on social media in which Naveen-ul-Haq could be seen shouting at Virat Kohli after the game in Lucknow

The post-match scenes at Lucknow Ekana Stadium on Monday night were extremely fierce and dramatic. After Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) defeated the hosts, Lucknow Super Giants, the crowd witnessed a new chapter in the Virat Kohli-Gautam Gambhir rivalry. The two engaged in a heated exchange and it played out in such a way that other players and support staff had to intervene.

It all happened after the game when the players shook hands as is customary after a game of cricket. Soon a gentle handshake turned into a verbal spat and it was fury everywhere. After the Gambhir-Kohli episode, LSG pitcher Naveen-ul-Haq came on stage and exchanged a few words with the RCB batter while shaking his hand.

READ ALSO| Watch: Tempers flare as Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir argue before split

Meanwhile, a video surfaced on social media in which Naveen could be seen yelling at Kohli. The Afghan bowler even expressed his displeasure by removing Kohli’s hands, which infuriated the latter. Before the RCB hitter could step forward and respond to the act, Glenn Maxwell stepped between them and tried to calm things down.

Kohli was lively throughout the Lucknow pursuit on Monday night. With every wicket down, the former skipper was either shouting aloud or gesturing towards the crowd at Ekana Stadium. That probably led to the whole episode that left pundits and fans talking about it.

IPL 2023: Orange Cap Full list of hitters with the most runs, Check here

Kohli and Gambhir have a history of fighting on and off the court. Things first clashed in 2013 when Gambhir led the Kolkata Knight Riders and Kohli captained the RCB and the two players exchanged words on the pitch.

But before this violent drama, the RCB bowlers did an exceptional job of grouping LSG for 108 to win the game by 18 runs. Josh Hazlewood and Karn Sharma picked two wickets each while Mohammed Siraj, Glenn Maxwell, Wanindu Hasaranga and Harshal Patel each took one wicket to script Bangalore’s win.

Get the latest cricket news, IPL 2023 live score, orange cap and purple cap holder details here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *